MWD Award 2023

Nov 28, 23 • NewsNo Comments

The IIM Network of the Baptist General Convention of Texas is pleased to announce that Dr. H. Lynn Eckeberger has been selected as the “Interim Pastor of the Year.” In a new approach, the award was presented at First Baptist Church, Hawkins, Texas, where Lynn currently is serving as the IIM pastor.

Including FBC Hawkins, he has served as interim pastor at over a dozen churches, including small churches, large churches, and Asian churches. Perhaps most notable has been how he helped guide the IIM process at the First Baptist Churches of Sanger, Bryan, Port Neches, Mineola, and others.

Dr. H. Lynn Eckeberger receives the 2023 MWD Award at First Baptist Church, Hawkins. Joined by the presenter, Karl Fickling (Coordinator for Interim Church Services of the BGCT), and his wife, Everell, Dr. Eckeberger hold a Bulova desk clock. The award symbolizes how Dr. E’s mind is constantly spinning with new ideas, while always helping the church move positively forward in what they need to do.

Before his long tenure of interim pastoring, Dr. Eckeberger served in several leadership positions for the BGCT, as Director of Missions for Concho Valley Baptist Association, Minister of Education/Administration at several local churches, and senior pastor.

With a BA, an MRE, and a PhD in Administration to round out his extensive experience and training, Dr. Eckenberger has also brought his giftedness to serve through the IIM Network on an advisory committee and on the peer review team. He has taught others in interim techniques, and he has promoted the ministry and been an encourager to many.

Congratulations to Lynn Eckeberger for a well-deserved, but long overdue, recognition of his interim pastor contributions to the Kingdom of God.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *